WELLcome Home, Carly Schulman!

We're excited to continue our monthly feature highlighting someone awesome who has recently moved back to Metro Detroit after adventures away!

This month, we'd like to (re)introduce you to Carly Schulman!

carly schulman 3.jpg

TW: Where did life take you before you returned home?

CS: The past 16 years I have lived all over the US! I went to college in Indiana (Go Hoosiers!) then stayed in the midwest and moved to Chicago. Two years later I made my way to NYC. After 4 years there I missed the midwest and returned to Chicago for the next 4. I then was swooped to Bozeman, Montana and ended up in Denver before making my way back to Michigan! Moving companies love me.

TW: If you could bring one thing from Denver to Detroit, what would it be?

CS: Sun!!! They see over 300 days of sun per year!!

TW: What restaurant/bar/Detroit activity did you miss most while living away?

CS: Coney Island!

carly schulman 5.jpg

TW: What is your ideal Saturday?

CS: My ideal Saturday depends on the season. Weather determines my activities. On a beautiful day you can find me walking my dog, kayaking on the lake, checking out different art events around the city, and having dinner outside! On a true Michigan grey winter day I could be under my covers until the next day. I love activities so my typical Saturday is pretty busy exploring and adventuring.

TW: What’s your favorite fall activity / which is your favorite local cider mill?

CS: I love biking the Painted Creek Trail in Rochester and there’s nothing better than a trip to the Franklin Cider Mill. 

carly schulman 1.jpg

TW: What's your favorite game? (could be board game, sport, etc.)

CS: Hands down Rummikub. Best. Game. Ever. As for sports, I am a camp girl. I live for newcomb, dodgeball, and kickball!

TW: As a kid, what did you want to be when you "grew up?"

CS: At first I wanted to be a chef, then realized I could not bake or cook or follow directions. Then I wanted to run a summer camp like my parents did. Eventually, after growing up, I wanted to be a special education teacher like my dad. I was for the past 11 years and now I run a private tutoring business, Little Timbers. I love being an educator and I am way better at it than being a chef.

carly schulman 2.jpg

TW: What was your favorite birthday party as a kid?

CS: For my 13th birthday my parents took me, my sister, and my closest friends to Charlevoix for a ski weekend! We had the BEST time. We were so cozy in a hotel with a hot tub and fireplace, skied everyday, went to dinner in town, and hung out.  It was a blast and I will never forget it. 

TW: What is your most frequently used emoji?

CS: My dog looks like a fox, literally. So I use the fox emoji when talking about her (which happens often).

carly schulman 4.jpg

TW: Finish the sentence: When I go to The Well...

CS: I want to reconnect and connect with old and new friends. I love being home and feeling like I'm part of a community.

The Well Intern2018Comment